Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Chat Board
 Top 40 Music on Compact Disc : Chat Board
Subject Topic: Wow! Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
prisdeej
MusicFan
MusicFan

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 02 July 2011 at 9:26pm | IP Logged Quote prisdeej

Hello!

All I can say is, wow! I've discovered this site by accident. Several weeks back I thought I was the only person who would obsess about collecting those hit versions you only heard on the dial. After reading hundred of postings here over the past few weeks, (and avoiding my nephew's birthday party while doing so.) I can say that I've haven't seen such a passionate display of programming since I left the business. It's such a good feeling to know y’all haven't forgotten the oldies. I graduated from high school when Brandy & Monica's "The Boy Is Mine" was hot. When I mention that record to anyone who it etched in Top 40 today, they tell me to, “get with it”. The industry changed around the turn of the last decade with a handful of producers designed to narrow cast. With the advent of downloads fitting the formula, the magic and anticipation of hearing a song on a radio just seems to be lost.   Maybe it has to do with the economic crisis? The "ain't broke don't fix it”, mentality. I consider myself very liberal, although top 40 is something I still haven't been able to adjust to in 2011.