Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Chat Board
 Top 40 Music on Compact Disc : Chat Board
Subject Topic: music editing software Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
edtop40
MusicFan
MusicFan

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 31 May 2005 at 8:30am | IP Logged Quote edtop40

i'm trying to figure out which music editing software program to buy so i can create my own 45 versions of songs from their lp/cd counterparts....can any and all members post their recomendations so as to aid me in my decision

aaronk
Admin Group
Admin Group

Posted: 01 June 2005 at 12:28am | IP Logged Quote aaronk

edtop40, I've been doing this for 8 years now, and I've always used Cool Edit Pro. It can do all kinds of really "cool" things with audio. Not only can you edit, but you can use it as a multi-track mixing/recording studio. Some of the effects that I use a lot (besides "cut" and "paste") are:
- Click/Pop Eliminator (to clean up vinyl)
- Noise Reduction & Hiss Reduction
- Amplify & Hard Limiter (to increase/decrease volume of songs)
- Pitch (which will change the pitch AND tempo or can chance the tempo without changing pitch and pitch without changing tempo)
Other effects include:
- Reverse
- Reverb (with a number of presets)
- Echo (with presets)
- Equalization
- Filters (to filter out frequencies or create unique effects)
- Compression (to change dynamics of the music--not file compression)
- Channel Mixing (to switch or mix certain percentages of each channel)

Bottom line is that this program can do TONS of things, and it can do them quite well. For editing, you can zoom in to the SAMPLE (there are 44,100 samples per second of audio)---far more accurate than you could ever do on reel to reel tape.