Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Chat Board
 Top 40 Music on Compact Disc : Chat Board
Subject Topic: Teena Marie - Lovergirl Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Grant
MusicFan
MusicFan

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 02 August 2006 at 10:19am | IP Logged Quote Grant

OK, your post made me dig out the liner notes, because the drums sound very real. It's hard to tell exactly who played on this song because the album has several drummers on it. My guess? John Robinson. Teena also plays drums on a few tracks. There is drum programming on the album, but it is limited to bit pieces of bongo drums played with sticks during the verses. I'm a drummer, and I can tell!

Edited by Grant on 02 August 2006 at 10:20am
Back to Top View Grant's Profile Search for other posts by Grant

aaronk
Admin Group
Admin Group

Posted: 02 August 2006 at 12:56pm | IP Logged Quote aaronk

Not that all this info is relevant, but I will agree that the drums on the LP mix sound live. The drums on the alternate mix sound electronic. Even on the LP mix, the beat keeps perfect timing. I overlapped the first half of the song with the second half, and the beat never goes out of sync. Either they're using a drum machine or the drummer has a beatkeeper and is very accurate.
Back to Top View aaronk's Profile Search for other posts by aaronk Visit aaronk's Homepage

Grant
MusicFan
MusicFan

Posted: 02 August 2006 at 2:35pm | IP Logged Quote Grant

aaronk wrote:
    The drums on the alternate mix sound electronic.

Not to me! They are just very dry, with no reverb added.

Quote:
Even on the LP mix, the beat keeps perfect timing. I overlapped the first half of the song with the second half, and the beat never goes out of sync. Either they're using a drum machine or the drummer has a beatkeeper and is very accurate.